SEAL stands for Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning. It is a programme developed to teach our children and young people the social and emotional skills that they need to learn effectively.

There is SEAL material for all years from Foundation to Year 6; it works as a spiral curriculum with the same topics being covered each year but with the specific material changing.

There are six main themes that are studied over half a term each, they are:

  • New Beginnings
  • Getting on and falling out
  • Going for goals
  • Good to be me
  • Relationships
  • Changes

There is also a seventh, smaller theme, called ‘Say no to bullying’. This is designed to be covered during Anti Bullying week in November.

Each theme includes a variety of ‘learning opportunities’ that classes can use to develop their understanding. These are interactive and fun with a minimal amount of writing and listening to an adult talking from the front of the class.